The 4C’s of Diamonds

Cut, Color, Clarity, and Carat Weight

contact us
for a diamond


    the 4c’s

    Understanding the 4C’s of diamonds (cut, color, clarity, and
    carat weight) can affect the purchase and resale value of your diamond. Understanding the 4C's is very important and you can learn more about it in this page.

    Diamonds are tested on the 4C’s of Diamonds which stands for Color, Clarity, Cut and Carat


    Color is the prime selection criteria of Diamonds and is classified into grades such as D, H, N and Z. The grading D, E, F and G are very near colorless stones with D being completely colorless.

    The 4 C'S Of Diamonds
    The 4 C'S Of Diamonds


    Clarity defines the presence of blemishes and inclusions in the diamond that makes it price worthy. A flawless diamond is rated FL and is the highest quality in this category, with I1, I2 and I3 (included) being the lowest.

    The 4 C'S Of Diamonds
    The 4 C'S Of Diamonds


    Cut of a diamond defines the sparkle and marvel factor of the stone. The cuts are precise and enhance the look of the diamond.  Cut is also an important price factor when selling your diamond. Cut ratings range from Excellent to Poor. 

    The 4 C'S Of Diamonds
    The 4 C'S Of Diamonds


    Carat is the weighing unit of Diamonds. One carat weight is equal to 0.2 grams. The higher the carat the larger and more valuable the diamond.

    The 4 C'S Of Diamonds

    To learn more about the 4 C’s of Diamond visit the GIA pages on this subject here.

    contact us today

    “I prefer liberty to chains of diamonds.” -Mary Wortley Montagu

    Call Now